

Shohomish County, Washington

AMENDED RESOLUTION NO. 21-018

A RESOLUTION OF THE SNOHOMISH COUNTY COUNCIL RECOGNIZING MAY 6, 2021, AS A DAY OF PRAYER IN SNOHOMISH COUNTY

WHEREAS, the National Day of Prayer is an annual observance held on the first Thursday of May, inviting people of all faiths to pray for the nation; and

WHEREAS, the National Day of Prayer exists to mobilize unified public prayer for America; and

WHEREAS, throughout our history, Americans have relied on prayer as a means of uniting, guiding, and healing. During times of strength and weakness, in moments of joy and moments of despair, prayer has provided reassurance, sustenance, and affirmation of common purpose; and

WHEREAS, Snohomish County is a respectful and diverse community, home to people of all backgrounds, faiths, religions and creeds; and

WHEREAS, Snohomish County unites with residents to exercise the freedom we have to gather in prayer seeking guidance, provision, protection and purpose for the benefit of every individual and our county as a whole; and

WHEREAS, prayer plays a powerful role in the lives of people of faith from all cultures and backgrounds and serves as a source of moral and spiritual guidance; and

WHEREAS, National Day of Prayer provides an opportunity to pray for our county, state, and nation, its people and its leaders while honoring the commitment to religious liberty and tolerance that contributes to our continued strength; and

WHEREAS, the theme for National Day of Prayer 2021 is "Lord pour out Your love, life, and liberty." based on the scripture 2 Corinthians 3:17, "Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty;"

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Snohomish County Council does hereby recognize May 6, 2021, as National Day of Prayer in Snohomish County and encourage Snohomish County residents to join us in prayer and reflection for the strength to meet the challenges before us and for the wisdom to know and do what is right.

APPROVED this 5th day of May, 2021.

Inphanie Wright

Stephanie Wright Council Chair

Sam Low Councilmember

Jared Mead Councilmember

Megan Dunn

Council Vice-Chair

N Neh Nate Nehring Councilmember

ATTEST: Debbie Eco, CMC

Debbie Eco, CMC Clerk of the Council