SNOHOMISH COUNTY COUNCIL Snohomish County, Washington

MOTION NO. 24-128

AUTHORIZING THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE TO SIGN AN AWARD LETTER WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE FOR NEW ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGERS AT THREE SNOHOMISH COUNTY SITES

WHEREAS, the County seeks to promote the use of electric vehicle charging infrastructure for its employees, the public, and the county's own electric vehicles; and

WHEREAS, transportation is the largest source of air pollution in Washington, accounting for about 39 percent of total greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) in 2019. On-road gasoline vehicles account for over half of total emissions in the transportation sector's GHGs; and

WHEREAS, investing in electric vehicle (EV) charging infrastructure promotes greater use of zero emission vehicles, which, in turn, improves air quality and leads to a general reduction in all air pollution, including GHGs, from mobile sources; and

WHEREAS, the County would benefit from EV charging infrastructure at the Everett main campus, and other locations; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Commerce has conditionally awarded the County \$500,000 in grant funds for new electric vehicle chargers at Everett, Arlington and Snohomish locations; and

WHEREAS, this agreement will provide 100% reimbursement for purchase and installation of Level 2 and/or DC Fast chargers; and

WHEREAS, the County will complete the project by December 31, 2024; and

WHEREAS, this agreement will result in valuable investment in county infrastructure and make electric vehicle charging more accessible for county operations;

NOW, THEREFORE, ON MOTION, the Snohomish County Council authorizes the County Executive, or his designee, to sign the award letter, agreement and all other documents necessary to effectuate the acceptance and transfer of grant funds from Washington State Department of Commerce to improve air quality through the purchase and installation of workplace electric vehicle chargers.

PASSED this 19th day of March, 2024

SNOHOMISH COUNTY COUNCIL Snohomish County, Washington

Council Chair

ATTEST:

Deputy Clerk of the Council