

RESOLUTION NO. 22-060

RECOGNIZING NOVEMBER 2022 AS NATIVE AMERICAN MONTH IN SNOHOMISH COUNTY

WHEREAS, in 1990 President George H. W. Bush approved a joint resolution designating November 1990 as "National American Indian Heritage Month" which later became known as "Native American Heritage Month"; and

WHEREAS, Native Americans were the first inhabitants of Snohomish County and have lived here since time immemorial. Mountains, rivers, lakes, streams, valleys, trails and towns across the County and Washington State bear Native American names to remind us of our shared heritage; they are lasting reminders of the contributions of Native Americans; and

WHEREAS, many of the foods we eat, the art we enjoy and the beautiful places we recreate in were introduced by Native Americans. Native Americans make contributions in every area of our daily life, including literature, science, and arts draw upon Native American themes and wisdom; and

WHEREAS, countless Native Americans have served in our Armed Forces and have fought valiantly for our country. All Americans are grateful for their sacrifices and service; and

WHEREAS, Indigenous Coast Salish peoples, including Sauk-Suiattle, Stillaguamish, Tulalip, and other tribes, inhabited the Salish Sea region that encompasses the shorelands and uplands of Snohomish County for thousands of years, using the area to harvest salmon, shellfish and land-based resources; and

WHEREAS, Snohomish County is named for the anglicized version of the Lushootseed name for the sduhubš (Sdo-ho-bsh) people; and

WHEREAS, we are grateful for all that Native Americans have meant and continue to mean to American life and our communities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Snohomish County Council recognize November 2022 as Native American Heritage Month in Snohomish County.

APPROVED this 1st day of November, 2022.

Megan Dunn Council Chair

San Low

Councilmember

Strom Peterson Councilmember

Mead

Jored Mead Council Vice-Chair

Nate Nehring Councilmember

ATTEST: _______ Debbie Eco, CMC Clerk of the Council