

SNOHOMISH COUNTY COUNCIL Snohomish County, Washington

RESOLUTION NO. 24-019

RECOGNIZING APRIL 24, 2024, AS WORKERS' MEMORIAL DAY IN SNOHOMISH COUNTY

WHEREAS, the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA), a U.S. labor law to ensure safe and healthy working conditions in both the public and private sectors, was enacted in 1971; and

WHEREAS, nevertheless, work-related injuries claim the lives of approximately 14 people each day in the United States, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. Many more are injured or are permanently disabled; and

WHEREAS, they are family members: spouses, children, siblings, parents, grandparents, friends, and coworkers; and

WHEREAS, Snohomish County reaffirms its commitment to enhance workplace safety and to encourage all employers to ensure safer and healthier work environments; and

WHEREAS, Snohomish County residents and employers can honor our workers by observing Workers' Memorial Day as a time to remember the victims of workplace injuries and diseases and resolve to improve the safety and health conditions of all workplaces; and

WHEREAS, Workers' Memorial Day serves as an opportunity to emphasize the preventable nature of many workplace incidences and diseases and to promote union organization around improvements in workplace safety; and

WHEREAS, the Snohomish and Island County Labor Council is holding an observance in honor of those workers who were injured and lost due to workplace injuries and illness. The ceremony will take place at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 24th, at the Mission Building Courtyard located on the Snohomish County Campus in Everett;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Snohomish County Council does hereby recognize April 24, 2024, to be Workers' Memorial Day in Snohomish County and encourages the people of Snohomish County to unite and honor workers injured and lost to workplace injuries or illnesses and support the creation of safer, healthier work environments.

APPROVED this 24th day of April, 2024.

Sared Mead

Council Chair

San Low
Councilmember

Nate Nehring

Council Vice-Chair

Megan Dunn

Councilmember

Elena Lao, CMC

ATTEST:

Deputy Clerk of the Council