

SNOHOMISH COUNTY COUNCIL Snohomish County, Washington

RESOLUTION NO. 24-053

RECOGNIZING DECEMBER 21, 2024, AS NATIONAL HOMELESS PERSONS' MEMORIAL DAY IN SNOHOMISH COUNTY

WHEREAS, since 2011, Snohomish County has participated in National Homeless Persons' Memorial Day which serves to raise awareness of our neighbors without shelter in our community and to remember and honor those who have died while homeless during the year; and

WHEREAS, the vigil is held on December 21st, the longest night of the year, and is sponsored by the Snohomish County Veterans Homelessness Committee; and

WHEREAS, during Snohomish County's 2024 Annual Point in Time (PIT) Count, 1,8161 persons did not have a permanent place to stay; representing a decrease of 124 people from 2023; and

WHEREAS, of the individuals who were counted, 43 people were unsheltered veterans, 66 were unaccompanied youth and young adults, 481 were adults with a serious mental illness, and 85 were adult survivors of domestic violence; and

WHEREAS, too many people in Snohomish County have passed away while experiencing homelessness; the exact number is difficult to track as reporting entities are not always aware of living situations but these deaths impact our community and the heartbreaking losses will be remembered; and

WHEREAS, on Friday, December 20th at 5:15 p.m. at the Snohomish County Outdoor Amphitheater, the Snohomish County Veterans Homelessness Committee is hosting the 14th Annual National Homeless Memorial Day Candlelight Vigil, with a special Veterans' salute; and

WHEREAS, Snohomish County is committed to helping all people meet their basic needs and develop their potential through providing social and human services to those in need;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Snohomish County Council does hereby recognize December 21, 2024, as National Homeless Persons' Memorial Day in Snohomish County. All residents and visitors are welcome to join Snohomish County in honoring our neighbors who have lost their lives while homeless in our community.

APPROVED this 18th day of December, 2024.

Jared Mead Council Chair

Sam Low Councilmember

SAARD

Strom Peterson Councilmember

Nate Nehring Council Vice-Chair

Menden

Megan Dunn Councilmember

Lena lan ATTEST:

Elena Lao, CMC Deputy Clerk of the Council